Far too competitive by half a third

As part of our new training plan, we have one hard erg a week to use as a fitness marker. The erg we’ve chosen (or uni chose last year – I copied the training plan almost session for session) is the 30min r20. Another couple of guys from the club have also joined in with the plan and do the ergs with us and occasionally follow our outing plans as well. It works quite well and it’s better to have a group of people (albeit a fairly small one) to train with.

Taking two months out of training over the summer to let a torn hamstring heal, lost me a lot of fitness. When we restarted in September, I was covering about 300m less (~4s off on the split) than my PB over 30 minutes. I’m still a long way off now and given that the target I’ve given myself for the middle of next year was 2.5s/500m better than my PB. I have a long way to go. The mornings sitting on a bike in the shed are paying off though; the distances are creeping up and the split is falling. The gains are coming in fits and starts though, depending on how I feel on the day of the erg each week. PB+4, +3.6, +2.8, +2.4, +2.3.

I’m getting there slowly. Give it until Christmas and I’ll be back in PB territory. I know I can do it, I’ve been there before, it’s just frustrating when my legs don’t agree.

This evening was supposed to be this week’s erg although it was plagued with problems from the start. My back has been playing up since our race last week (a whole sorry story in its own right. It may have to have its own post) and I wasn’t looking forward to a hard session. Erring on the side of caution I decided I wouldn’t do it but I would go to the boat house and do a UT2 session on an erg, just for a change from the turbo if nothing else. The bowman had his own problems as well. Apparently he’d damaged his shoulder over the weekend while training in the masters 4x. A good combination really.

Since I’d said I wouldn’t be doing the normal session I arrived to find them doing a weights circuit. I joined in on a couple of the less back dependent lifts (bench, bench pull etc). For the first time lifting anything heavier than the boat for a long time, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. It still wasn’t good.

When they’d decided they’d finished the idea of an erg was floated. An interesting, shorter one instead of the usual. A relay with two pairs was suggested. It’s worth noting here that I have an unfair advantage over the other three in terms of fitness. I benefited from three years of regular, planned training that we were expected to both attend and push ourselves in. They’d learnt to row and rowed a few evenings a week for a year or two. As far as I can tell there hasn’t been an official training plan as such, only an evening a week of circuit training run through the winter season. In the half hour ergs, this translates to around 7-8 seconds on the average split. When this was pointed out (by them not me) the pairs idea was vetoed and a 3 vs 1 race was suggested instead.

This is the point I should have laughed and told them to bugger off. My back needed resting. What actually happened was that I laughed and took them up on it. Where the original plan was going to be alternating 500m pieces, the new idea was for them to still do this and for me to do 1500m. As a slight help to me, they’d have to change over twice in the middle missing 4 or five strokes each time. As a slight help to them, there were three of them and they’d only have to sprint 500m.

With two ergs set for 1500m, and me and the first of them lined up, we went off. This was the first high rate erg I’d done since June and I had no idea how it would go. I ended up settling about 3s slower than my 2k PB pace and about the same behind the first of the competition. By the first switch over I was down but not a huge amount, maybe 30m. By the end of the switch I was up again, maybe 20m. It’s hard to tell when both numbers are changing quickly.

Their second leg was faster and though I was still holding the same average as before I was now 5-6s slower on the split and the advantage I’d gained, slowing thinned and vanished. By their second switch I was back down to 40m or so behind. Gaining a similar amount on this switch I found myself slightly ahead again as I went into the final 500m.

Starting to feel the effect of the first fast erg in a while I should have held the pace I’d settled at and seen where I finished against them. It turns out being beaten isn’t something I much approve of so pushed harder and harder as the distance fell. I was looking at their screen as much as mine by this point and I still couldn’t tell who was ahead.

At 200m to go I upped the rate as their final leg slowed up. I think the last few strokes we were on the same split. Falling off the erg at the end onto a stretching mat trying to catch my breath I almost immediately wondered why I’d done it. I’m sure it’s not a recommended treatment for aching back muscles and I had nothing to prove. We all know who’s faster than who amongst the four of us. I could have lost and had the perfect excuse. Three perfect excuses even. After a while though someone flicked through the monitors and found the times we’d actually done it in. I had managed it. By 0.3 seconds.

That was why I’d done it. That third of a second against three people who are racing for the same club as me mattered much more than I care to admit. I didn’t even care that they would have been faster had they had slightly better changeovers, that they’d actually been faster for the time that they’d been rowing. It was somehow still justification for going flat out and giving everything when I’m supposed to be resting. I sometimes wonder if I’d be better off not caring. I seem to manage at the rest of life.

Categories: No NaNoWriMo, Rowing | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Far too competitive by half a third

  1. Kate

    This is why I love you!

  2. Pingback: It’s not over until it’s over « Facing Backwards

  3. Not caring can be useful. I doubt I need to say when.

    Resting and giving yourself time to heal is important too. (Says she who was still too drugged up on painkillers to think she needed to stay home (and in bed) the day after a stint in AandE. My doctor was not amused.)

    It was unfair of them to challenge you, but I think I understand you rising to it. Something like, “That’ll show you!”. If I had more capability, I would show a lot of people a lot of things…

    I’m glad you won, even if it wasn’t sensible.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

