Today I don’t feel like doing anything

Or I didn’t anyway.

This was a surprise to me given that I had various things that I thought I wanted to do. Turns out I was wrong. What I wanted to do was sit and vegetate in front of the computer.

I didn’t cycle (in the shed or out of it), I didn’t achieve anything of note and didn’t even read anything inspirational. The only thing I’ll remember of my day’s stupor is the discovery of how chicken wire is made. I watched it for hours.

One event though did interrupt my mind destroying day of inactivity, the arrival of the orders I had placed three days ago in my moment of “let’s do cycling”. I bought a new helmet to replace the one I had carried around uni for three years and dropped repeatedly. This was a success. It fits. It is comfy. I might write a slightly more detailed review at some point. I’m looking forward to that as much as you are to reading it.

The next items were a pair of water bottles. Pure extravagance. I thought I ought to having lost the previous two I had to Dorney Lake and to somewhere at the boathouse. SiS have changed their design. There is nothing more to say.

The third item (don’t worry, there are only four (five if you’re picky (which would make this the fourth (see where pedantry gets you (to a fifth set of embedded parenthesis))))) was a waterproof jacket. I felt that if I was going to go around in the world wearing too much lycra and wrapping my feet in cling film to let me ride in unpleasant weather, I may as well go all the way and be fluorescent at the same time. All well and good until the jacket turned out to fit only when standing straight with my arms by my sides.

“it looks like you’re trying to move your arms. Would you like me to make your sleeves ride up to near your elbows? No? How about stretch the back so tight you can’t even think about using aero-bars?”

I accepted my fate of having to send it back and moved on to the next item. A long sleeved, thermal cycling jersey (this is the fourth/fifth item (don’t start)). Having tried it on and discovered that the full length zip unfortunately preferred forming ridges up my front rather than lying flat, I did what any self-respecting/narcissistic individual would do and went to find a mirror. Imagine my shock when this gentleman looked back at me.

The one from Star Trek that isn't Captain Picard

Only not him – the one whose name I don’t know that has hair.

I don’t know how I had failed to see it when I ordered it. What had happened I think was that I narrowed it down to one of two versions, then found a third one (this one) by the same company and that was apparently warmer/cheaper/something-that-changed-my-mind-ier so I bought it. I didn’t notice that the pattern was somewhat familiar.

The problem is also that, having never seen Star Trek, I only know the costume from the mickey takes. From the ‘Two Ronnies’ version and from Galaxy Quest. I don’t have a very high opinion of it.

It looks like I may be beaming sending another item back. Who knows what I’ll be next time?

The hairy one from Star Wars

Nope. I’ve never seen Star Wars either

Categories: Cycling, Everyday Happenings | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Today I don’t feel like doing anything

  1. Hehehe! 🙂

  2. Not-seeing-star-people unite!
    Gotta love thermal shopping, too.

  3. I want a Star Trek running jersey. Or, even better, a Power Ranger one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

